Previous Next
Loading Scores...



News Archives


January 26, 2013

 Ice Hockey UK press release 

Great Britain head coach Tony Hand has named his 22-man squad ahead of next month’s Olympic final qualifiers in Riga, Latvia.

GB, who won the gold medal in the 1936 Winter Olympics in Germany, travel to Latvia for a four-team tournament (Group E) from Thursday 7th to Sunday 10th February 2013.

Tony Hand’s side - who are ranked 21st in the world - will face the hosts Latvia on 7th February (seeded 11th). They will then play 14th-seed France followed by Kazakhstan (17th).

The winner of the tournament will progress through to the 2014 Winter Olympics in Sochi, Russia.

Hand said: “I believe this is a very competitive squad and one of the most talented GB squads I have ever known.

“We are going to Latvia as the underdogs and I am sure most people in the ice hockey world don’t expect us to qualify.

“But this is the most close-knit squad I have worked with and they believe in their own abilities. 

“There is no doubting that it is going to be tough but we are going out there and will do Great Britain proud.

“As with the trip to Japan for the pre-qualifiers, some quality players have been left out. But many of them are amongst the reserves and we can call upon them if need-be.

“Stephen Murphy picked up an injury playing for Belfast but he is on the mend and we are very hopeful he will be fit.

“If he does not prove his fitness, there are two capable netminders on the reserve list to choose from.”



Ben Bowns                               Hull Stingrays

Stephen Murphy                      Belfast Giants


Danny Meyers                          Sheffield Steelers

Ben O’Connor                          Arlan Kokshetau

Dave Phillips                           Belfast Giants

Mark Richardson                      Cardiff Devils

Rod Sarich                              Sheffield Steelers

Mark Thomas                           Sheffield Steelers

Jonathan Weaver                     Nottingham Panthers


David Clarke                            Nottingham Panthers

Robert Dowd                            Troja-Ljungby

Robert Farmer                          Braehead Clan

Mark Garside                            Belfast Giants

Jason Hewitt                            Sheffield Steelers

Phil Hill                                               Cardiff Devils

Robert Lachowicz                    Nottingham Panthers

Matthew Myers                         Nottingham Panthers

Greg Owen                              Basingstoke Bison

Craig Peacock                         Belfast Giants

Jonathan Phillips                     Sheffield Steelers

Colin Shields                           Belfast Giants

Ashley Tait                              Sheffield Steelers


Stevie Lyle                              Basingstoke Bison 

Geoff Woolhouse                     Sheffield Steelers

Stevie Lee                               Nottingham Panthers

Kevin Phillips                          Braehead Clan

Russ Cowley                             Coventry Blaze

Ben Davies                              Cardiff Devils

Matty Davies                            Hull Stingrays

Leigh Jamieson                     Milton Keynes Lightning

Aaron Nell                               Swindon Wildcats



© 2015 Elite Ice Hockey League. All rights reserved.